Housing Choice Voucher Eligibility

(NewsReady.com) – Handling the costs of housing is difficult for many Americans. The United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) defines a household as “cost-burdened” if they spend over 30% of their income on housing. Sadly, many households in America are cost-burdened. In fact, 37.1 million households are cost-burdened. That is why the government provides support for those in need. Even though they provide a lot of options, one specific opportunity that can help is the Housing Choice Voucher Program.

What is the Housing Choice Voucher Program?

The Housing Choice Voucher Program is also known as “Section 8”. This is a popular housing support option for low-income families. In order to be determined eligible, an applicant will need to submit an application at their local Public Housing Authority (PHA). If an applicant is eligible, they will typically be placed onto a waiting list. Once it is time to receive assistance, families will get vouchers that can go towards the cost of rent.

However, vouchers can only be used at properties that accept them as a form of payment. Once a recipient finds an eligible property, the property will need to pass an inspection by the PHA. The PHA conducts these checks in order to make sure the property is in a livable condition! Since this program can help, many people are interested in becoming eligible. That is why it is important to know the eligibility requirements!

What are Section 8 Eligibility Requirements?

It is important to keep in mind that specific Section 8 eligibility will vary by area. However, you can expect your local PHA to look at these four different aspects:

  • Your Income Level
  • Family Status
  • Citizenship Status
  • Eviction History

Your Income Level

One of the most important factors of getting Section 8 assistance is your income level. That’s because this program aims to help people who are low income. HUD determines the income limits every year. To find the most relevant information you will want to get in contact with your local PHA. When filling out your application you will want to accurately report your income information because your local PHA will fact check all of the information!

Family Status

Your family status will be another factor that your local PHA takes into consideration. That’s because not only does family size play a part in your income, but it can also impact your application depending on the type of family members you have. For example, a person that makes $19,000 every year may have an easier time than a family of four that makes $19,000 every year. As another example, a family with no elderly members or members with disabilities may have an easier time than a family with all healthy and non-elderly family members.

Citizenship Status

In order to be eligible for this assistance opportunity, you will need to be a United States citizen or having a qualifying immigration status. Temporary and unauthorized immigrants will not be able to qualify for this program even if they meet all other eligibility requirements. If you are unsure about your eligibility requirements you will want to get in touch with a professional like an immigration attorney.

Eviction History

This program wants to make sure that recipients of this program will be good neighbors and good tenants. That is why they take into consideration an applicant’s eviction history. If you have a history of eviction, or history of issues in previous residencies you will likely have a hard time getting this assistance.


HUD understands how hard it can be to handle the cost of housing. That is why they offer the Housing Choice Voucher Program, also known as Section 8. This program is popular amongst people in need. However, it is only available to people that qualify. Even though it varies by area there are generally 4 requirements that you will need to meet in order to qualify! For any more questions you will want to get in touch with your local PHA.

Copyright 2022, NewsReady.com